about EWLL


The EWL group has been established in 1998. The objective of the founding members has been twofold: a cooperation of professors of Labour Law in teaching and in research. In the group six universities are represented: université de Strasbourg (France); Europa-Universität Viadrina, Frankfurt a/d Oder(Germany); Universitá di Cassino (Italy); Universiteit Utrecht (the Netherlands); Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha (Spain) and University of Leicester (United Kingdom).  Till 2007 the university of Antwerp had also participated. In 2014 the University of Hannover has been replaced by the Europa-Universität of Frankfurt a/d Oder. 

Its members focus on studying, researching and teaching both individual and collective labour law and social security law at the national, European and international level embedded in a social historic, societal and economic framework.
The two main fields of activities are:
1.      a yearly intensive student seminar on European labour law in one of the universities. This is the core teaching activity. The subject of the seminars has been chosen out of the most actual developments in the EU and the member states represented in the group.
Exchange of teachers in the regular teaching programmes of the participating universities.  
2.      Joint research projects on the main field of expertise of its group members. The results are presented on conferences organised by the group or one of its members and in publications edited by the group or its members.